Monday, July 13, 2009

The Balkan Peninsula

It’s not an easy question to confine which countries do and which don’t really belong to the peninsula. According to some definitions, parts of Slovenia, Croatia and Serbia do not belong here, which means, the borderline would be the Balkan Mountains in the east and the Dinaric Mountains in the west. From a cultural-political point of view, the expression ‘Balkans’ was considered to be pejorative, therefore in many places you’ll find South-eastern Europe instead, sometimes including Romania, Moldova and parts of Turkey as well.

In this blog I’m going to concentrate on the countries Slovenia, Croatia, Serbia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Montenegro, Albania, Kosovo, Macedonia, Greece, Bulgaria, Romania, Moldova and the part of Turkey that is in Europe.

Do you feel like going for a virtual walk on the Albanian seaside, in the Croatian national parks or in one of the capital cities? Then read further – you’ll find interesting descriptions about a country each week, the very first one being Slovenia, the jewel casket of the region.